Standard 3.3.2A – A Detailed Copy About Who the Changes Effect

Types of Businesses Covered by Standard 3.3.2a:

Standard 3.3.2a applies to the following food service and closely related retail businesses, categorised as either category one or category two businesses:

  • Restaurants

  • Cafés

  • Pubs

  • Hotels with table service

  • Smorgasbords

  • Supermarkets and delis

  • Takeaway shops/milk bars

  • Hospitals

  • Aged care facilities

  • Childcare centres

  • Canteens

  • Mobile food vendors

  • Bakeries

  • Juice bars

  • Supermarkets

  • Service stations

  • Clubs serving food

Requirements for Food Handlers: Food handlers in both categories must meet specific requirements outlined in clauses 8 and 9. Businesses must ensure that all food handlers:

  • Have completed a food safety training course or possess appropriate skills and knowledge before handling high-risk foods.

Topics Covered by the Food Safety Training Course: The food safety training course must cover the following topics:

  • Safe handling of food, including temperature control and understanding the danger zone

  • Food contamination prevention, managing allergens, food separation, and utensil usage

  • Cleaning and sanitising food premises and equipment using correct procedures and substances

  • Personal hygiene, encompassing hand-washing, grooming, and uniform guidelines

Training Options: Businesses have flexibility in choosing training methods. They can opt for:

  • Accredited courses from training providers

  • Developing their training programs

Training Record Keeping: Businesses must maintain records of training completed by food handlers to demonstrate compliance with the standard.

Role of Food Safety Supervisor (FSS): A trained and competent supervisor (FSS) must oversee food handlers in category one and two businesses. The FSS should:

  • Possess recent certification within the past five years

  • Have skills to manage safe food handling, particularly high-risk food

  • Have the authority to supervise and instruct other food handlers

FSS Certification: FSS certificates must be obtained from a registered training organisation. Refreshers are available for certification renewal, while the complete FSS course must be retaken every five years.

Chat to an advisor

Chat to one of our trainers

Our team are here to help with your questions